Monday, April 30, 2012

Review: The Iron King by Julie Kagawa


The Iron King (Iron Fey, #1)
Iron Fey #1
Learn more about The Iron King at juliekagawa.com
This book was borrowed from a friend.


SUMMARY:
Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth - that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.
REVIEW:
So this book (series) had been on my list for quite a while.  Not long after I became a part of the book blog community, I kept noticing that one ARC was definitely making it's rounds; The Iron Knight.  I immediately became interested in the series and when Jess joined Starcrossed I scavenged her book collection and realized she had the entire series.  My husband read it, but it sat on my shelf for months and I never got to them.  When I got the chance to read a few books that were not requested by the author and/or publisher, I made this one of them.

I'll be honest, there's so much hype about this series that I found myself a a little disappointed with The Iron King.  Don't get me wrong, it was a great book, unique story line, and very well written, but it just didn't seem to hook me like it did everyone else.  I plan on reading the rest of the books in the series because I'm very curious as to the events that will unfold and what exactly is going to happen to and between Meghan, Ash, and Puck.
MEMORABLE QUOTES:

FAVORITE CHARACTER:
Ash.
RATING:
4.5 MOONS.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.




Harry Potter Fans, We Need Your Help!


IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO PARTICIPATE PLEASE EMAIL ME AT starcrossedreviews@hotmail.com WITH WHAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO DO.


If you weren’t aware, our first blog-oversary is coming up in June.  We’ve decided that we’d like to do something big and special this year, as well as the years afterwards.  


Every year, for the entire month of June, we will be holding a Starcrossed Reviews Birthday Bash, celebrating a book series that we love, one that brought more into the reading world.  For the first annual Birthday Bash, we have decided on the name Muggle Mania.  If it isn’t obvious, the Harry Potter series will be the first to be honored.


To make this event as large and amazing as possible for our readers, we would like to extend an invitation to involve you in the process.  Every day until the end of June, we will be hosting an array of events such as guest reviews, guest posts, giveaways, interviews, and much more.


Below you will find a list of things we would like to include on the blog for Muggle Mania.  If you would like to contribute any of these items, just email me as soon as possible with what you would like to do.  I will begin scheduling everything as soon as possible so that you will have an idea of when your post will be made.  The due date for your items will be May 29th, which will give me a few days to make sure everything is taken care of before the event begins.  If for some reason you cannot get your post in, please email me as soon as possible.




THINGS WE WILL NEED


Reviews:
If you have already reviewed these books on your own blog or on another site in the past, that is perfectly okay.  I have no problem with posting old reviews as long as they are your own.

  • The Harry Potter Series.
  • Harry Potter related books (The Tales of Beetle The Bard, Quidditch Through The Ages, etc.)
  • The Harry Potter movies.
  • The James Potter Series by G. Norman Lippert



Articles:
For this you will be writing an informative article about the subjects listed below.

  • The Wizarding World of Harry Potter.
  • Wizard Rock (Harry Potter inspired music)
  • Character profiles.
  • Harry Potter inspired jewelry.
  • MuggleNet.com
  • Potter Puppet Pals
  • Pottermore.



Guest Posts:

  • Your encounters with the actors that play the Harry Potter characters in the films.
  • Your encounters with J.K. Rowling.
  • Your Harry Potter inspired recipes.
  • A list of your favorite characters and why. (I will be composing a list of multiple people and making one post.  Please try to keep it to one or two characters and your description short).
  • Fan artwork (please keep it family friendly).



Giveaways:
I would love to do all kinds of giveaways without asking for help, but unfortunately, money is tight and I can not do it on my own.  I’m not asking that your contributions be large, just whatever you can provide.  Unless you can provide something big and awesome, that’s your decision.  All contributions will be very much appreciated.  If you provide something for a giveaway, the winner will be chosen at random and I will email you with their mailing information.

  • Books (the HP series, or related books.  Print copies preferred, but I will gladly accept digital copies as well.)
  • Movie or book memorabilia.  (Posters, clothing, etc.)
  • Harry Potter movies.
  • Candy and foods inspired by the series.
  • Giftcards to HP inspired stores or book stores.
  • Anything else HP related that you can offer!





If there is anything else you would like to do for the event, please let me know what you’d like to do!  We have a whole month to fill up, so anything appropriate is welcomed!


Again, the due date for these items will be May 29th.  Once I get a list of everyone involved I will send out more information regarding your contributions later on.  If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask!





Birthday Bashes

BIRTHDAY BASHES
Click on each to learn more about it.


TWILIGHT TAKEOVER | 2013

The Reviewers


OFFICIAL REVIEWERS


OCCASIONAL REVIEWERS

Our Awards


AWARDS WE'VE RECEIVED

About Starcrossed Reviews


FIRST REVIEW:  
Untamed by P.C. & Kristin Cast | June 27th, 2011. | Reviewed by Darcus.

FIRST INTERVIEW:
Michael D. Young | The Last Archangel | July 20th, 2011.

FIRST GIVEAWAY: 
Just A Nice Guy (signed) | Phil Torcivia. | Aug. 1-7th, 2011.
Starcrossed was created on the twenty-first of June, 2011 after I had been surfing through multiple "book blogs".  I'd known they were out there but I had never been to one and didn't know how many there were.  After stumbling upon a vast multitude of them in search of giveaways and ways I could get free books, I started thinking.  I read books all the time anyways, and always have.  I absolutely love to read, but once I'm finished, the book goes back onto the shelf and all that's left of it remains in my head and in the words I tell other people while I'm recommending it or trying to describe what it was about or what the characters were like.

Suddenly, I wondered why I had never thought about doing book reviews before.  If I opened up a book blog, not only would I always be able to go back and read my own review if I ever forgot what a book was about or how much I liked it, but I could inform other readers about the book.  I could spread the word, which is one of the things I really wanted to do.  That's how books get circulated.  By word of mouth.  I wanted to be one of those mouths.  I wanted to write reviews so that people would know a readers opinion of the book, and I wanted to do giveaways, to give something back to readers.  I also wanted to inch myself just a little closer to authors and publishers.  And what better way to do it than to read and review their books?  

So I opened up Starcrossed. 

On June 29th, 2011 I invited a friend of mine, Fayth to join me in this adventure.  A couple of months later, my best friend Jess joined our group.  I wanted at least one other person to go in with me on Starcrossed because not only would it be better for readers to have differing opinions on different books, but it would also mean that reviews would get posted faster.  More people reading equals more books reviewed in a shorter period of time.  You will find reviews by the three of us in the review archive.  You can also find out a little bit more in the about us page.  

Our main goal here is to get the word out on books that deserve to be read.  So many great books go unnoticed because they simply do not have the word of mouth as advertisement.  So we're here to open you up to novels, share our views with you, and hopefully get you a little closer to the authors that wrote them.
Enjoy.

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Review: Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick


Silence (Hush, Hush, #3)
Hush, Hush #3
Learn more about Silence at beccafitpatrick.com
This book was borrowed from a friend.


SUMMARY:
The noise between Patch and Nora is gone. They've overcome the secrets riddled in Patch's dark past...bridged two irreconcilable worlds...faced heart-wrenching tests of betrayal, loyalty and trust...and all for a love that will transcend the boundary between heaven and earth. Armed with nothing but their absolute faith in one another, Patch and Nora enter a desperate fight to stop a villain who holds the power to shatter everything they've worked for—and their love—forever.
REVIEW:
I was excited to crack open this book, it was not long before I had finished the cliff hanger ending of the second and was throwing it down in frustration that I scrambled for Silence. I think one of the best aspects of this story was that no matter what Patch did or tried to do, the two always found their way back together. It is like the chinese proverb that talks about the red thread of destiny. 

Another amusing aspect was that Nora just could not seem to stay out trouble no matter what she did and as usual Patch always rode in on the proverbial white stead as her white knight.
MEMORABLE QUOTES:

FAVORITE CHARACTER:
Scott.
RATING:
5 MOONS.
ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT.




Saturday, April 28, 2012

Review: The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks


The Last Song
Learn more about The Last Song at nicholassparks.com
This book was borrowed from the library.


SUMMARY:
Seventeen year-old Veronica “Ronnie” Miller’s life was turned upside-down when her parents divorced and her father moved from New York City to Wilmington, North Carolina. Three years later, she remains angry and alienated from her parents, especially her father… until her mother decides it would be in everyone’s best interest if she spent the summer in Wilmington with him. Ronnie’s father, a former concert pianist and teacher, is living a quiet life in the beach town, immersed in creating a work of art that will become the centerpiece of a local church. The tale that unfolds is an unforgettable story about love in its myriad forms – first love, the love between parents and children – that demonstrates, as only a Nicholas Sparks novel can, the many ways that deeply felt relationships can break our hearts… and heal them.
REVIEW:
Oh, this book.  What can I say about it?  I don’t know.  Except, damn you Nicholas Sparks!  But in a good way.  Sparks is an author that always makes me cry, and yet I continue to go back to him.  Even through the tears and anger, he makes me laugh nand he makes me fall in love.

The Last Song is an amazing book.  It’s well written and the story and characters are amazing.  The only bad thoughts I had about it (and trust me, there were very few), didn’t matter so much when I continued to read.

I saw the movie a while back when it first came out and I have no qualms about which was better.  In my eyes, they were both heart breaking and beautiful.

I loved this book and I recommend Nicholas Sparks to anyone that doesn’t mind shedding a tear over the beauty of real life.
MEMORABLE QUOTES:

FAVORITE CHARACTER:
Ronnie, Will, and Jonah.
RATING:
4.5 MOONS.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.



Friday, April 27, 2012

Review: Dark Needs At Night's Edge by Kresley Cole


Dark Needs at Night's Edge (Immortals After Dark, #5)
Immortals After Dark #5
Learn more about Dark Needs At Night's Edge at kresleycole.com
This book was borrowed from a friend.


SUMMARY:
A RAVEN-HAIRED TEMPTRESS OF THE DARK... Néomi Laress, a famous ballerina from a past century, became a phantom the night she was murdered. Imbued with otherworldly powers but invisible to the living, she haunts her beloved home, scaring away trespassers -- until she encounters a ruthless immortal even more terrifying than Néomi herself. A VAMPIRE WARRIOR CONSUMED BY MADNESS... To prevent him from harming others, Conrad Wroth's brothers imprison him in an abandoned manor. But there, a female only he can see seems determined to drive him further into madness. The exquisite creature torments him with desire, leaving his body racked with lust and his soul torn as he finds himself coveting her for his own. HOW FAR WILL HE GO TO CLAIM HER? Yet even if Conrad can win Néomi, evil still surrounds her. Once he returns to the brutality of his past to protect her, will he succumb to the dark needs seething inside him?
REVIEW:

Instructions on how to cure the raging beast with red eyes that is known as the fallen vampire:
 
The two major ingrediants include:
1. One ghostly ballerina with a need for attention
2. One vampire assasin who upon drinking from the neck fell into a blood lust  most consider uncurable. A blood lust that rivals only his need for vengence.
 
Mix the two and add three loyal brothers, a witch who cannot look at her own reflection, Nixx a demi-goddess with a superiority complex.
Throw in some valkarie and demon and what have you got.
WHAMO!
 
One epic story that is sure to keep them coming.
Kresley Cole has yet to dissapoint me with the books she creates.  I pick one of her books up and I know I am in for a page turner I will have trouble putting down even for sleep.

MEMORABLE QUOTES:

FAVORITE CHARACTER:

RATING:
4.5 MOONS.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.




Thursday, April 26, 2012

Review: Flowers In The Attic by V.C. Andrews


Flowers in the Attic (Dollanganger, #1)
Dollanganger #1
Learn more about Flowers In the Attic at completevca.com
This book was borrowed from the library.


SUMMARY:
Such wonderful children. Such a beautiful mother. Such a lovely house. Such endless terror!


It wasn't that she didn't love her children. She did. But there was a fortune at stake--a fortune that would assure their later happiness if she could keep the children a secret from her dying father.

So she and her mother hid her darlings away in an unused attic.

Just for a little while.

But the brutal days swelled into agonizing years. Now Cathy, Chris, and the twins wait in their cramped and helpless world, stirred by adult dreams, adult desires, served a meager sustenance by an angry, superstitious grandmother who knows that the Devil works in dark and devious ways. Sometimes he sends children to do his work--children who--one by one--must be destroyed....

'Way upstairs there are
four secrets hidden.
Blond, beautiful, innocent
struggling to stay alive....
REVIEW:

This is one of those books that takes me on a crazy ride and once it’s over, my head is reeling and I don’t really know how to describe the experience.  This book was really good, but I don’t really know how I feel about it.  My thoughts are so conflicted, mostly by the things revealed by the end of the novel.  I’m angry and heart broken and confused.  Not by the book itself but by the events that happened inside of it’s pages.


It makes me so angry, what these kids were put through and what the adults in their lives had done to them.  The book was very well written and kept me interested.  I literally stayed up until five in the morning finishing it.  Honestly, I really want to watch the movie now so that I can comapre it and see the words acted out.  I had never read a V.C. Andrews book before, but I definitely plan to read more in the future.

MEMORABLE QUOTES:

FAVORITE CHARACTER:
Cathy and Chris.

RATING:
4.5 MOONS.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.




Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Review: The Darkest Surrender by Gena Showalter


The Darkest Surrender  (Lords of the Underworld, #8)
Lords of The Underworld #8
Learn more about The Darkest Surrender at members.genashowalter.com
I bought this book with my own money.


SUMMARY:
Possessed by the demon of Defeat, Strider cannot lose a challenge without suffering unimaginable pain. For him, nothing stands in the way of victory. Until Kaia, an enchanting Harpy, tempts him to the razor's edge of surrender.Known among her people as The Disappointment, Kaia must bring home the gold in the Harpy Games or die. Strider is a distraction she can't afford because he has an agenda of his own-steal first prize, an ancient godly artifact, before the winner can be named. But as the competition heats up, only one prize will matter-the love neither had thought possible..
REVIEW:
I picked the first book of this series out by accident. It was mainly because I was in highschool and I needed something to read.
The cover looked pretty good and it was one of the cheeper books.

Boy am I glad that I did.
Gena Showalter is one of the best paranormal writers I have ever read. Unlike those who have series, she does not repeat herself, it does not turn into a monotonious cycle where I know what will happen after the first page.

Stryder has always been a favorite of mine. His attitude and demon just speak to me, mainly because I am stubborn and hate to back down from a challange myself.

I was glad to see that he was not given some week knee'd female but instead a harpy and one that would make him work for the rest of his life.

 Kaia like most of the females paired off with the Lord's hadn't had the easiest life either. I was glad to see that dispite everything she didn't give up until she had fixed the wrongs that happened because of her when she was a child by Harpy standard.

Dispite the twists and turns of their love story it was a great tale and one I could hardly put down.
Bring on the next in the series!
MEMORABLE QUOTES:
"Both your consorts suck. Now shut up and move out.' Bianka stuck her tongue out at Kaia ' Mine sucks less then yours,' muttered."
 
 
"Well that's because I'm made of awesome.' ' And dipped in awesome' 'And sprinkled in awesome' 
 
"You're a goddess Kaia' Another kiss, soft and sweet. 'Nah. That's just a rumor one of my old boyfriends started."

FAVORITE CHARACTER:

RATING:
5 MOONS.
ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT.



Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Giveaway: A Love By Any Measure by Killian McRae (US & CAN)


THE PRIZE
A Love by Any Measure
One winner will receive a copy of A Love By Any Measure by Killian McRae.




TO ENTER
To enter this giveaway, just fill out the form below.  Please be sure to read the rules and instructions at the bottom of the widget.


Review: A Love By Any Measure by Killian McRae


A Love by Any Measure
Learn more about A Love By Any Measure at killianmcrae.com
This book was provided for free by the author for review.


SUMMARY:
An Irish lass. An English lord. 
A love that overcomes all boundaries, but at what cost?

Lord August Grayson, English landlord, has secretly, and much to the dismay of his father, held in reverence the object of his first fancy: poor Irish tenant Maeve O'Connor. Returning to Ireland for the first time since his youth, August discovers that Maeve has grown into a woman of beauty and tenacity. He understands, however, that he could offer Maeve nothing but shame if her pursued her. But when circumstances allow him an opportunity to indulge his fancy, even if only in a limited scope, August finds himself unable to resist the temptation. 

Maeve,for her part, knows the danger falling for August holds, but finds her heart and her good senses becoming confused the longer she spends in his company. As two hearts become hopelessly entangled, both Maeve and August are forced to question the costs of their love. As consequences of their romance manifest, both struggle with the pain and difficulties their love causes, both for themselves and those who care for them.
REVIEW:
The fact that a lot of this book was set in Ireland was one of the first things that attracted me to it.  I have always held a fascination for Ireland and Killian McRae did a wonderful job of satisfying my indulgences.  Her characters and her words were beautiful in their English and Irish brogue.
The book starts out with quite a bit of sexual intimacy, but as you read on, it becomes something more.  I found myself completely taken for a ride in the middle of the book and I was wondering what the heck was happening.  The story line throws you for a loop with it's crafted twists and beautiful turns.  I even found myself tearing up on more than one occasion.
I found it reminiscent of The Kissing Tree by Prudence Bice, which I also loved.  If you enjoyed that one, you definitely need to read A Love By Any Measure.

MEMORABLE QUOTES:
"We are all equal in the sight of God. It is only in the eyes of man that we find the faults of the world within."

FAVORITE CHARACTER:
August and Mauve.

RATING:
4 MOONS.
REALLY GOOD.



Monday, April 23, 2012

Review: Alpha by Rachel Vincent


Alpha (Shifters, #6)
Shifters #6
Learn more about Alpha at rachelvincent.com
This book was borrowed from a friend.


SUMMARY:
The unscrupulous new Council chair has charged Jace, Marc and me with trespassing, kidnapping, murder and treason. Yeah, we've been busy. But now it's time to take justice into our own hands. We must avenge my brother's death and carve out the rot at the heart of the Council.
It's not going to be easy, and loss seems unavoidable, but I have promised to protect my Pride, no matter what. With a target on my back and Marc at my side, I'm heading for a final showdown that can--that will--change everything forever. A showdown I'm not sure I'm ready for.
But life never waits until you're ready.
REVIEW:
All I can say is wow.  Honestly, when I finished the very last page, I started whining to my husband because I did not want the series to end.  I wanted to find out what happened after the last sentence.  I wanted to know what the rest of Faythe’s life would be like.  Unfortunately, however, the book did end.  And it was amazing.

These are definitely books that both men and women would enjoy.  There are equal amounts of love, relationships, sex, bloodlust, action, and violence.  It just worked really well.  I highly recommend this series to anyone that thinks it sounds interesting and especially to those that don’t to give it a try and hopefully, more than likely, you’ll enjoy it just as much as I have.
MEMORABLE QUOTES:

FAVORITE CHARACTER:
Faythe, Jace, and Marc.

RATING:
5 MOONS.
ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT.


Review: Blue Moon by Alyson Noel


Blue Moon (The Immortals, #2)
The Immortals #2
Learn more about Blue Moon at alysonnoel.com
This book was borrowed from a friend.


SUMMARY:
     Just as Ever is learning everything she can about her new abilities as an immortal, initiated into the dark, seductive world by her beloved Damen, something terrible is happening to him.  As Ever’s powers are increasing, Damen’s are fading—stricken by a mysterious illness that threatens his memory, his identity, his life.

     Desperate to save him, Ever travels to the mystical dimension of Summerland, uncovering not only the secrets of Damen’s past—the brutal, tortured history he hoped to keep hidden—but also an ancient text revealing the workings of time. With the approaching blue moon heralding her only window for travel, Ever is forced to decide between turning back the clock and saving her family from the accident that claimed them—or staying in the present and saving Damen, who grows weaker each day...
REVIEW:
So we are brought back to reincarnated love and the trouble that follows them through the ages. It just seems like everyone is out to get these two love birds. They are exactly as the blog is titled, Star-crossed.
I can't help but feel sorry for Ever when she realizedsed that she had been forgotten by the one person who means the most to her, her love. I know I would have been a complete and total wreck if my  fiance forgot me in the time frame of just one passing day, and then proceeded to treat me the way Damen treated her. While I liked that it showed this other side to him, because everyone always has this side they hide from the other, it still was rather sad to read about.
I did like the twist the villain was able to pull off, for once there is no happy ending and while I am ever the romantic I have gotten tired of knowing how books or movies will end because they think everyone loves a happy ending.
I do think it will be interesting to see how they push through it though.
 
MEMORABLE QUOTES:

FAVORITE CHARACTER:
Miles.

RATING:
3.5 MOONS.
WORTH READING.